Running…What’s that?

Hours after I posted about my last race of 2014, my friend, Michele, registered us for Burlington’s FirstRun on New Year’s Day.

IMG_4819

Although it was the start of one long cold winter, I kept up with my runs.

IMG_6297Capture2

The FirstRun was COLD! But it was better than the freezing rain during the Glow Run last fall, so no complaints from us happy runners…

Capture1

There was a big turn out (Lots of other crazy Vermont runners out there I guess!), and the course was pretty flat, with some great views of Lake Champlain.Capture8

And yes, we sported our pink tutus!  There were some creative costumes and we had some cheering fans (thanks family!) along the way.

And after that, I was done.  Litterally.  I lost the run bug and didn’t run for MONTHS.  Yes, months.  It sure didn’t help that it was below freezing for January and February and we didn’t see the 50s and 60s until April – plus I realize I HATE running on the treadmill, especially my parents one… it is missing a few nuts or bolts or something and makes a whiney sound – can’t stand it.  Excuses excuses, I know.

I finally got my butt in gear when my jeans were getting way too snug and jumped back into it 3 weeks ago.

Capturerun

My body was starting to look and feel like it did post-Avery, and that was not gonna fly.  Plus, once I started running, man did it feel good.  Don’t get me wrong, I do not enjoy running… it’s hard.  I have tiny little legs and run so very slow, but if I push myself thru a run, the ‘runners high’ feeling I get when I finish and cool down… man, it’s worth it. And the biggest plus, it keeps me in shape.

So, last week was my first real full week of running – I ran 14 miles (that’s the week total, not all 14 in one day!), and took one day off for free weights.  I’m trying to stick to 2-2 1/2 miles every day (because I can fit that, stretching, and a quick shower between finishing work and picking Avery up) and a long run on a weekend day (3-4 miles) – it so helps that Avery needs some cartoons to wake up to, and Mimi and Grampy can be there with him while I get that run in first thing in the morning.

In the past week I’ve felt my body coming back.  It’s nowhere near where it was 1 1/2 years ago when I was running 3 miles a day and doing a long run (6 miles) on the weekend, but I’ll get there soon enough 🙂  It really does take almost a month of working out and eating right to start seeing results.  It’s worth it tho – got out the summer clothes this past weekend and like that some of them fit!

I think the key this time around is sticking to it.  I have the blog to fess up to, but it helps a lot to flood everyone Instagram with lots of pictures of my feet…
instagramrunning

Oh and I’ve decided I’m not a big fan of races.  They were great motivators, but when I’m trying to save $, dishing out 30-40 bucks for a race once a month when I can just run outside anytime really isn’t worth it for me.  Right now I’m not focused on speed, just getting my butt out and doing the work and sticking with it is the goal right now.  Plus, races are for fast runners.  I am not fast (part of getting old is accepting the things you are NOT good at – oh, I sound so wise!).  I do like distance runs though.  The 4 miles I did two weekends ago (which was by accident because I took a new route and when I came home and mapped it, I was like Oops!, that was 4 miles, not 3!) felt great… at least the last mile did.  I think I ran my fastest that last mile.

So, if I don’t have races to motivate me, what’s gonna keep me in gear?  Well, my friend told me about this site called DietBet, where you bet $ and if you reach your goal weight, you win $.  What better motivator when saving for a house than money?!  It’s a 6 month long DietBet, and I barely made this past weekend’s Round 1 goal, but that’s because I know I’ll keep slowly losing, instead of crash dieting.  Doing the whole eat healthy and workout thing… should work best in the long run, right?

I ran 2 1/2 miles today in a nice 62 degree afternoon.  Much less muggy than yesterdays 82 degrees.  Tomorrow will be another couple miles… and the roads are finally runnable.  First it was super muddy (thanks New England Mud Season), and then they graded the roads, which is great because it covers up all the pot holes but it leaves golf ball sized ‘gravel’ in the road which means I have to really watch it or I could twist my ankle – Oh the joys of living on a dirt road…

Well, I fess up, I will be for sure running one race this summer.  I helped organize it last year, so I’ll be doing it again this year – the Milton Freedom 5K.  IMG_6204

Would love to have some friends and family running/walking it with me (or volunteer to help out!)  Let me know if you’re intrested…
  ❤ Meghan

Please leave a Comment...

