Weekend Mash Up

It’s Thursday, right?  I feel like the past week has been a blur.  We haven’t had our normal routine the past week, but that’s not a bad thing because it’s been filled will laughter, silliness, and lots of fun.

Starting on Saturday, while Avery spent the day with his Dad, I worked 9 hours.  Don’t get too excited for me – it wasn’t for overtime.  Avery’s daycare was closed on Monday (for MLK Jr Day), but my office was open.  So instead of using a vacation day to stay home with the little dude, I worked my Monday hours on Saturday.  That made for a long day, but I did get a lot accomplished because there were only a handful of people in the office – less interruptions = higher productivity. So that meant Avery and I had both Sunday AND Monday together!

Sunday morning we cuddled in bed, had a yummy breakfast, played trains and legos.
IMG_0394
IMG_0411
While we were playing, Avery heard the snow blower outside clearing the pathways.  He was sooo excited – squealing and pointing and we moved around the apartment going to all the windows watching it go around.

Mid-morning we bundled up and headed out to do the laundry.  We have to go outside to the building next door, so laundry is quite an adventure.  We put our two loads of laundry in – Avery loves helping me put the clothes in and doing the washing machine dance (he shakes like the washing machine saying ‘washin, washin”).  I set a timer on my phone and since we had a dusting the night before, we headed out to clean off the car.
IMG_0402
Every morning we leave the house, Avery asks ‘Snow?  Car Wash?” Because he likes to wipe the snow off the car.  There wasn’t much snow, but Avery was thrilled to help Mommy clean off the car.  While we were cleaning the car off, Avery heard the snow blower again. So I told him to go find it.  We walked around, me on the sidewalks and Avery tramping thru the untouched snow.  He loves making tracks and running in circles.

We found the snow blower and what did Avery do?  He followed the snow blower around…. for 15 minutes!!!
IMG_0420
It was too cute.  I followed behind Avery and he would turn around and point to his ear ‘loud mommy’ or simply point to the snow blower in awe.

Then it was time to go swap the laundry and it took some convincing to prevent a tantrum because he did NOT want to leave the snow blower!  When I told him he could help with the laundry (because Mommy makes everything fun – even laundry!), he gladly walked away from the snow blower.  We swapped the laundry to the dryer and headed inside to have a snack and play some more.IMG_0422
IMG_0423
When the laundry was done, we bundled up again to make the trek next door.  This time, Avery HAD to bring Simon with us.  Simon is Avery’s plush kitty.  It’s a miniature version of the cat at my parents house (He has a Pokey and Frasier too – the dogs).  As of late, the kitty goes everywhere with Avery.  He especially likes setting the kitty on my shoulder (like a parrot) and laughs and points at it (It’s quite a challenge to keep him up there but some days he’s up there for over an hour while we are playing something else).  Avery cuddles him at bedtime and loves to put him in his lap and pet him.  So, Avery took the kitty for a nice walk to collect the finished laundry…
IMG_0415

Avery thought it was the funniest thing… he even put the kitty in the snow and laughed so hard at it ‘kitty ina snow mommy! like it!”

Back inside, I made Avery lunch – which he had way too much fun with…IMG_0421

And then it was time for some reading before a nap.  Avery has been really into a couple choice books lately – this truck one in particular (Thanks, Lorri!).  Each page asks a question, like ‘Which truck takes away the trash?’ and Avery can answer every single one correctly!

IMG_0419

While Avery was napping, I folded all the laundry, sat down with a yummy salad and relaxed.  Leftover meatballs (homemade with turkey meat) are delicious on a salad by the way…

IMG_0424

Then I was thinking about grocery shopping and what we needed to buy and realized I had some old bananas… that meant I could make banana bread!

IMG_0425

I was having a great time… making a mess of my kitchen and listening to music – until I realized I didn’t have enough flour!  I added some granola to thicken it up, but in the end it still came out mushy.  After it set, it was delicious though and I really like the texture of the granola in it!  I’ve had it almost every night for a snack before bed.  Avery, not so interested.  He isn’t a fan of cakes/breads.

When Avery got up from his nap, we headed out to grab supplies at Target.  We needed diapers and some groceries.  I’m not going to lie, shopping with Avery is a challenge.  I try to squeeze in shopping when he’s with his Dad so he doesn’t have to sit through the boring experience – he is usually good and ‘helps’ me pick out food and put it in the cart, but after a while, he gets bored of it and just wants out of the cart and to run around. And then he doesn’t want to hold my hand and throws a fit and flails on the floor.  It’s not pretty. I hate putting him through that.  So while he was napping I made my shopping list (which I added flour to!), and I just hoped we would be quickly in and out and Avery wouldn’t have a hard time.  We literally had 4 diapers left so we HAD to go.

WELL. What do you know, I left my phone in the car with the shopping list – NOT a great start!  But…..we were in and out in 30 minutes and Avery stayed in the cart the whole time, was in the best of moods, and we really had fun.  He even got a package of gummies as a treat when we got back in the car.  And I remembered everything on my list.  Success!  Maybe it’s lame, but I was SOOOO proud of him and happy that we had such a good time.  Little triumphs like that bring me so much joy.

Back at home we played some ‘Yegos’ and play doh before dinner.
IMG_0430IMG_0431

Avery has REALLY been into his play doh lately.  He got his first set on Christmas and although most play doh says for 3+ year olds, he really loves it.  He loves cutting out shapes, we make mini snow men (which he calls ‘pumpkins’ like his snowman he made in VT that he named ‘Pumpkin), and he loves switching colors.

Then we had some fun with legos…IMG_0432

We made a house for John (the lego man that drives the john deere tractor) that ended up being three stories high!  With the new set of legos from Christmas, we have tons of pieces to be creative.  Avery loves making stairs and having John and Boy (the new lego man from the new set that Avery named ‘Boy’) walk up and down them.  There are more colors too, so being Mommy, I always ask Avery for a particular color block or quiz him on them… he’s got every color down that I ask him – except he mixes up red and green … aren’t those the colors colorblind people mess up?  I’ll have to ask Uncle Paul.  And he mixes up pink and purple sometimes, and black and brown.

IMG_0433

Then it was time for dinner, bath, and bed.  This little fish has been REALLY into his baths lately.  He does NOT want to get out… even when all the water is gone!

IMG_0392

Monday we played trains in the morning…

IMG_0451

Avery likes to switch it up and after we’ve spent 30 minutes putting a track together on the table, we play with trains on it for 2 minutes and then Avery stops, looks at it and says ‘no like it mommy’ and starts pulling the track apart – and we start over again!  Another common saying after we make a track is ‘carpet mommy’ because he then wants to take the train set off, push the table aside and make the track on the carpet – never a dull moment in our house!

IMG_0453

While we were goofing around in the living room, Avery tooke down our christmas chain we made from construction paper.  He asked for his scissors and we went to town cutting it up.
IMG_0446

Avery LOVES using his new scissors.  It’s fitting though – he’s a boy and loves destruction. And after we cut the chain into hundreds of tiny pieces, Avery wouldn’t let me sweep them up – he wanted to do it himself!
IMG_0449

Another weekend nap meant another two hours of relaxing with a salad and I spoiled myself with a movie on Netflix!  It was so nice to veg out.  When Avery got up, we were both rested and had a fun afternoon… more play doh!

IMG_0439

And we drew some pictures using Avery’s easel.  And we FaceTime’d my parents.

IMG_0443

For dinner, Avery had quite the appetite…

IMG_0447

More fun in the bathtub… with lots of bubbles and lots of toys!  It’s funny how many games we make out of plastic cups and balls and water… the possiblities are endless.  Our new favorite is making ice cream cones of bubbles and pretending to eat them.  Avery gets a hoot out of me smushing my face in the bubbles and getting bubbles all over my face.

IMG_0461

I’d like to say bedtime went as smoothly as our fun days, but we’ve been having some difficult nights.  It’s been taking 30-45 minutes every night of Avery getting out of bed and me putting him back in bed (over and over) for him to fall asleep.  Maybe he’s just having so much fun that he doesn’t want it to end?  🙂

And to add to our odd week, Avery had a snow day Wednesday, so guess who came to work with me…?!!  I’ll try to share those pics tomorrow 🙂

More on our sleep troubles and the phases and stages of toddler-hood coming soon… I’ve been meaning to write about it, but it will have to wait until next week.  Tomorrow we’re off to Vermont!  MiMi and Grampy are SO excited for our visit!  They have some surprises waiting for Avery that even I don’t know about!!!  I’ll share about our visit next week…

❤ Meghan

10 thoughts on “Weekend Mash Up

  1. Sounds like a fun and busy weekend! Avery is so cute in his snow boots watching the snow blower! 🙂 Annabel would lose it if she saw tons of snow!!

    I’m anxious to read about the bedtime battles because we’ve been having some major ones over here ever since we took off the crib railing. And naps are completely over, which makes my days soooo long! Boo.

      • nice – Avery naps early at daycare during the week and later with me on the weekend… it’s never an exact time, just whenever i think he’s near tiredness.

    • naps are over?!?! Avery still gets 2 hours right after lunch and even then I have to wake him otherwise he would keep sleeping, and he sleeps 10hours a night. The hard part is putting him down – he will not stay in bed and is wired up and won’t calm down. I tried the same tactic i used when sleep training him when he was a year old but that didn’t work so I’m doing something else this time… will post soon 🙂

      • Yep, gone. Pretty much just dropped them entirely one day. She went from napping 2-2.5 hours everyday (and me sometimes having to wake her up!) to completely dropping them. She still definitely needs it, but she’s too dang stubborn and just flat out refuses it. I will occasionally try for a “well-timed” car ride if she’s especially tired, but usually not because then bed time is harder:/ Getting rid of the crib rail didn’t do much damage as far as bed time goes, but it sure did a number on the nap situation! It sure makes for a long day when my husband is gone 11 hours a day!

      • Oh wow, I can’t imagine a day without naps! Avery sleeps 10 hour nights and 2hr naps and he needs and sometimes asks for his nap. On weekends at home it is a little difficult to get him down… but then again, so is bedtime everything so that’s nothing new to me!

  2. We are having sleep issues here too. Caleb was waking up screaming..and the reason was bc he lost his toy train motn. Or his pjs came unbuttoned. And then a couple of nights where he said his pjs were “broken” (unbuttoned) but they were zippers. Now every night, I hsve to tell him not to cry if he wakes up… And to go back to sleep. He has not screamed all week.

    • Awe, poor little guy. Avery’s hardest part is falling asleep. Every since he was born he’s had trouble falling asleep because he just doesn’t want to miss anything.

    • We’ve been dealing with nightmares/bad dreams around here. The other night she woke up screaming for me and then told me that we were at the toy store and I left her and she had to come find me fast, fast:( So sad.

Please leave a Comment...

