42K x 30: Month 9 Update

Close, but not cigar is the theme of this month’s student loan payoff update.  I was shooting to payoff a loan this month, and it didn’t happen.  Boo.  I knew it would be tight, but finances have shifted at home and the race to payoff my student loans has to be put on hold for a bit.

Capture

Oh well, life happens.  Even if I have to eat PB&J sandwiches for lunch every day, I’m determined to reach my goal – but keeping a roof over our head and paying the electric bill (which isn’t cheap during a heat wave!) come before student loans. C’est la vie.

  • Starting Balance: $36,279.91 (7/1/13)
  • End Balance: $35941.22 (7/31/13)
  • Paid Towards Loans$477.22
  • Interest Paid: $161.53
  • Principle Paid$310.69

Although I wasn’t even close to my goal this month, we are approaching the $35K mark! In 9 months, I’ve paid off over $6,000 in debt (and a bunch more to interest too).. so although I’m falling short of my long term goals, every month I have less debt, so that’s always good!

July Goals

  1. Pay off Sallie Mae Loan 1-07 ($737+interest)  –No 😦
  2. Pay minimum on other Sallie Mae Loans CHECK!
  3. $40 bi weekly to VSAC Loans CHECK!

There was no way I was getting close to paying off that loan this month.  And next month will be the same deal… so lets be a little more realistic for August and just hold the fort down…

August Goals

  1. Pay minimum on other Sallie Mae Loans 
  2. $40 bi weekly to VSAC Loans

So, this means I’ll have to back up my goal date for paying off this loan.  Maybe I can pay it off by the end of the year?  Reasonable goal, especially if Grams sends $20 with my birthday card and some gift cards at Christmas…(just saying).

Short Term Goals  Pay off this loans in this order (deadline)

  • 1-08 @ 6.55% (February ’13): $0
  • 1-07 @ 6.55% (April Jul Dec ’13): $739
  • 1-05 @ 6.55% (2014): $3099
  • 1-06 @ 6.55% (2014): $4989

I realize it’s hard to look so far ahead for picking goal dates to pay off other loans – as finances are a monthly changing thing.  I just have to keep my goal in mind and keep chugging along.  Maybe I won’t pay these off until I’m 31 or 32… but they WILL get paid off! And when they do, I’m gonna party like it’s 1999 – and you’re all invited!!!

Are you totally bored of me blabbing about my student loans every month?  If not, read these and then I’m sure you will be…

8 thoughts on “42K x 30: Month 9 Update

    • Thanks, Nina – I look forward to the day I pay them off completely… then I’ll be rich! Well, not rich but at least not shelling out $1k a month for student loans!

  1. You’ve accomplished so much with the one
    s you’ve paid off. I’ve made it a goal to try and pay off my car note sitting at about 8K. It’s so close it’s making me angry to write out that payment every month. Grrrrrr. Lol.

Please leave a Comment...

