42K x 30: Month 8 Update

Another month gone, and with it… some loan debt!

Student Loan Debt Chart - July 13

I’m still nowhere near my goal (red line), but I keep chugging along (blue line).  Extra debt paid off now means less debt (and interest!) paid later.  Plus, imagine what it’ll be like when my loans are gone – what to do with $1,000 extra a month?  That’s like a whole ‘nother mortgage!

  • Starting Balance: $37,085.35 (6/1/13)
  • End Balance: $36,279.91  (6/30/13)
  • Paid Towards Loans: $972.51
  • Interest Paid: $166.39
  • Principle Paid: $806.12

This month I fell a little short of my goals.  I had some added expenses this month that held me back, but I still made progress.

June Goals

  1. Pay (at least) $640 extra to Sallie Mae Loan 1-07 –No 😦
  2. Pay minimum on other Sallie Mae Loans CHECK!
  3. $40 bi weekly to VSAC Loans CHECK!

I couldn’t muster up the $640, but I did send a $500 check (woo-hoo!) to SM which lowers to the loan (1-07) that I’ve been chipping away at to $737.  I would be a miracle if I could wrangle together $737 this month and meet my goal of paying off this loan in July.  But in reality, I don’t think it’s going to happen…  I’ll still set it as my goal, but if it doesn’t happen until August, I won’t be (too) disappointed.

July Goals

  1. Pay off Sallie Mae Loan 1-07 ($737+interest) 
  2. Pay minimum on other Sallie Mae Loans 
  3. $40 bi weekly to VSAC Loans

With Loan 1-07 gone soon, that’ll make my minimums to SM lower by $29. Instead of $329/mo, it’ll be $300/mo to SM, which means I can put that much more towards the next loan to pay off on the list.

Short Term Goals  Pay off this loans in this order (deadline)

  • 1-08 @ 6.55% (February ’13): $0
  • 1-07 @ 6.55% (April Jul ’13): $737
  • 1-05 @ 6.55% (Dec ’13): $3099
  • 1-06 @ 6.55% (2014): $4989

I’ll check in again in a month… and maybe I’ll surprise myself and find some $ hiding around and pay off this pesky loan… only $737 left on it!!! Sooooo close!  Then I take a look at my chart and see how far I am from reaching my goal… ugh.  I’m telling you now, if you get my name for Christmas, just gimme ca$h… 🙂

Are you totally bored of me blabbing about my student loans every month?  If not, read these and then I’m sure you will be…

4 thoughts on “42K x 30: Month 8 Update

  1. Just keep it up! It will be worth it. I didn’t go to college so I never had student loans; but car and mortgage are hard to payoff as well. Fortunately, I’ve stayed out of credit card debt for quite a while now. Only occassionally using them.

    • Thanks for the support. We have cars and a mortgage too, but student loans are at such high rates that it makes more sense to pay them off first and get them out of the way… although 42k is proving to be a lot to just get out of the way lol

  2. Well done, Meghan! Nothing better than wiping out loans. If it makes you feel any better, we have close to 4x what you have on student loans 😦 It’s like a mortgage I swear. But I love personal finance and saving for goals, or finding ways to make extra income. Totally not bored with your updates 🙂 Keep up the good work!

Please leave a Comment...

