Resolutions – Smesholutions

For some silly reason, I THOUGHT I posted this on NYE, and it never posted (must have been all that hot cocoa I indulged in)… so here’s my thoughts from NYE…

If there’s anything I’ve learned in the 15 months I’ve been a Mommy, it’s that making ‘plans’ are a waste of time… and only result in disappointment.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m super-goal oriented, A-type personality, borderline OCD maybe, and I have a list of a zillion things I want to do and accomplish.  But making expectations are highly over-rated when you have an unpredictable toddler.  Yeah, some days Avery ‘helps’ me with laundry and unloading the dishwasher, but other days he is on a screaming teething tirade and I’m lucky if I can pee in silence (and when I do, I’m doing it while holding him in my lap!).

babys first birthday 21

Between, work, home, and Avery, it’s an accomplishment just making it to the next day without forgetting to pack a lunch (usually mine), switch the laundry without forgetting it in the washer and having to wash it over again, and have enough energy at the end of the night to take my contacts out and brush my teeth before passing out.

I have to laugh at the idea of adding ‘resolutions’ to the mix of our daily madness.  Making a list of things I would love to do (but know I don’t have time or energy to) would just result my anxiety going up because I’ll worry that things aren’t getting done… and then when they don’t get done, I’ll be disappointed and mad at myself.  Well, we don’t need any of that.  So screw the new years resolutions.  I’m doing just fine right now without any stinkin’ resolutions.  I’ve already been going to the gym and loosing weight, so I don’t need to resolve to loose weight.  I’m already working my butt off to save money and pay off my student loans, so no resolutions about finances.  I just got another (yes, another!) raise at work so I don’t need to resolve about that.  I already spend as much time with Avery and family as much as possible… so no need to resolve that.

baby kissing mom

So, for New Years this year, there will be no resolutions.  We’re doing just fine and I have no regrets or anything to resolve. Yeah maybe there will still be pine needles all over the dining room floor, and all those toys I neatly put away last night will be strewn under the couch and hidden in kitchen cabinets, but hey, that’s our life.  Sure, I’d love my house to be clean and organized and I’d love another hour at the gym or a night out with the girls, but that’s just not really possible right now, and not really my priority.  Avery and I are happy and healthy.  What more can I ask for? So, I’ll be spending the New Years with no plans to change anything!!!

We will, however, be celebrating… because holidays are a perfect excuse to celebrate!  Avery and I will be spending the whole day together….making a big mess of toys around the house, maybe even take a trip to the mall so Avery can run around the play area and mommy can power walk the stroller a few laps around, and I may even give him a couple m&ms for a treat… I know, crazyness?!

Did you have ‘resolutions’ this year, or as a parent are you just gonna roll with the punches?

10 thoughts on “Resolutions – Smesholutions

  1. I did not make any resolutions this year. I mean, it would be great to “save” money, get more organized, etc. But I’m going to “roll with the punches” this year. Love the pic of you and Avery giving kisses. Those are my favorite!!!!

    • I’m so with you on that!… I didn’t have any lists or plans this week and I already got so much done… Christmas decor put away, the trees on the curb to be picked up, organized Averys toys to make room for the new ones… we’re on a roll and it’s only the 2nd of the year!

  2. That first photo of the two of you is AWESOME! I might try to copy it. Although, I’ll probably have to put gummi bears up my nose to get Mac to stay still long enough! Ha! Hope you had a great day yesterday and you accomplish all your dreams and goals EVERY year! (Or as many as you reasonably can!)

    • Thanks for stopping by! It’s funny how much I accomplish when I don’t have a plan… the past few days have been good where Avery is in a good mood and can ‘help’ or play by himself and I get lots done… but I know there will be days he wont let me put him down and I won’t get anything accomplished… and thats ok 🙂 happy new year!

Please leave a Comment...

