High Five for Friday

Hello Friday. It’s nice to see you again.  I’m not as exhausted as last Friday.  Maybe that’s because Halloween was a nice break in the middle of the week – and our work week didn’t start until Tuesday, thanks to Sandy.  Other than a day off, Sandy didn’t directly affect us, and we’re super thankful for having power, no flooding, no trees down, and everyone we love is safe.  To add to those good things, we’re linking up (for a 4th week in a row!) with Flavors of My Life and From My Grey Desk –  here are FIVE highlights from this week that we’re grateful for…

1. Vegas, Baby.
couple in vegas
Vinay and I booked our yearly getaway for 2013 – to Vegas!  After going to Costa Rica last year for a wedding, just the two of us (Avery stayed with Grammy & Grampy), we made a promise to ourselves – for our sanity and relationship, we’ll take a vacation together every year.  Well, Vinay had racked up some points thru his timeshare with his Mom and we used them to book a hotel for a week in Vegas this coming February.  We are super-excited because Vegas was our first vacation together as a couple (picture above from 2009).

2. E & M’s Biggest Loser Challege

zumba fitness logo

Erin and I went to our second Zumba Class last night (read about my first Zumba Class here).  We knew the first two dances- they were the easier ones and we had done them last week – but then she threw in some new ones that were wicked complicated!  Oh and the instructor came over to me 2-3 times to help me out – I know, pathetic!  But that isn’t stopping us!  We’re still committed to going once a week together to a class.  Plus we decided to make a Biggest Loser Challege for ourselves – we weighed ourselves this morning and I’m excited to kick her butt! It’ll be fun having a friend to get healthy and fit with… I did pretty well dropping the baby weight during my FIT in 40 Challenge last spring.  Now I wanna drop the post college weight that has slowly creeped on. 

3. Neighborhood Park & Playground

IMG_2672

I am so glad we bought a house VERY close to a park.  I try to take Avery every day after work (weather permitting).  We’ll miss this when the weather really takes a turn for winter… but for right now, we’re enjoying it while we can!

4. Halloween #2

IMG_2710

We took Avery Trick or Treating for his SECOND Halloween – This was our first holiday we celebrated with him last year, so it’s just amazing to see how much he’s grown and how different this Halloween was from last year.

5. Sweet Snacks
IMG_2691 IMG_2709

We’ve been indulging in some yummy deserts this week – after Avery’s down, we curl up on the couch and watch a TV show together to wind down for the night.  We’ve both had a little bit of a sweet tooth this week and shared some sweet treats before bed…my favorite was Wednesday night – because we ate some of Avery’s Halloween candy and I stole the green gummy candy from Vinay and man was he mad! Hehe…

What’s your 5 this week?

10 thoughts on “High Five for Friday

  1. Great high fives! I love the shots of Avery in his costume last year and this year. Isn’t it crazy how quickly time goes by! I hope you are able to enjoy trips to the park for a bit longer!

  2. Hi thanks for stopping by! The mexican pizza is super easy. I don’t have exact measurements with me but it’s just a can of crescent roll rolled out and pressed on cookie sheet. Layer with refried beans (your “sauce”), hamburger meat, cheese…black olives…toppings are endless. I baked the crescent roll crust for about 10 minutes @ 325 before adding toppings and then, once toppings are added, stick back in the oven for 5 more minutes to finish cooking and melt cheese 🙂

  3. You are amazing and I love to read your blog! Looks like an awesome week!! Avery and his costume are sooo adorable!! Happy Weekend! Enjoy your extra hour!

Please leave a Comment...

