Thursday Throwback: Ba-Nana Bread

Since we’ve been blogging for over a year now, I thought I’d start a ‘Thursday Throwback‘ series.  We’ll see how well I actually keep up with it….

This past weekend I dug into my recipe book and brushed off the instructions to make my Nana’s Banana Bread that I hadn’t touched since April.  Since the warm months are now behind us, banana bread seemed very fitting for a chilly fall weekend at home.  Plus, running the stove for a hour cooking the bread will warm up the house a little bit, right?!

 

So, after Avery was fast asleep, I made myself at home in my tiny kitchen

IMG_2574

I made meatloaf for dinner, so while that was in the oven, I mixed up the banana bread – while watching Project Runway (I know, I know, guilty pleasure.  Hey when else do I have time to watch TV?!  Gotta multi task!)

Nana’s Banana Bread Recipe:

  • Sift together 1 3/4c. flour, 2tsp. baking powder, 1/4tsp. baking soda, 1/2tsp. salt.
  • Work 1/3c. shortening until fluffy, then add 2/3c. sugar.
  • Beat and add 2 eggs.
  • Add flour mixture, alternately with 1c. mashed banana, beating until smooth.
  • Pour into 9x5x3 greased loaf pan.
  • Bake at 350 for about 1 hour.
  • ***I added chocolate chips to my version :)***

By the time it popped out of the oven, it was too late to enjoy so I wrapped it up on the counter… and had a piece here and there this week.  Then I noticed it was going really fast… and I wasn’t the only one eating it…

IMG_2583

I asked the hubby (because Avery can’t reach the counter YET and that leaves only one culprit), and he had been having a slice for breakfast every morning.  I totally took this as a compliment and my inner chef grinned with pride!  See, my hubby HATES sweets.  He really doesn’t care for cake or pie or any of the yummy treats I LOVE LOVE LOVE.  So, I was completely taken aback when he said he really liked it.  And then even more so when he asked me to make more… and maybe try some other kinds like Cranberry.

Cranberry bread?  I have no idea how to make that, or any other kind of bread. Crap…

Help!  Send me some good bread recipes…

4 thoughts on “Thursday Throwback: Ba-Nana Bread

  1. That sounds like a good cooking challenge for you! I am very lucky because when Alexey wants ‘naner bread, I call up my sister and put in the order. She will usually make a batch for him (and for me)! I’m a cook, not a baker. 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by and I totally understand a busy household! I have 5 old bananas sitting at home… I think I’ll be making more banana bread this week!

Please leave a Comment...

