Avery’s Weekend Getaway

I try to be a good mom.  A great mom even.  But sometimes it’s exhausting.  I wake up at 4am (after waking up at 10, 12:30, and 2:30) and get to work early to pull some extra hours.  When my workday ends, I spend every second with Avery before he goes to bed.  We go for a walk, or go to the park, have dinner as a family, bath time and playtime.  After he’s down, I clean up the tornado of a mess we’ve left from our activities and then I’m in bed for a quick read to wind down and do it all over again tomorrow.

After almost a year of this, I’m a little tired.  Heck, I’m exhausted!  And although weekends are job-free, they are not ‘work’-free.  I’m still up at 6.  We have to catch up on laundry, grocery shopping, house and lawn maintenance, and we get to enjoy a lot of family time.  But in the mix of all that, I still don’t get a breather.  If we’re lucky we can squeeze in a movie after Avery goes to bed and have a mini date night.  But catching up on sleep, taking a shower and actually having time to blow dry my hair, having time to eat a meal before it gets cold, all luxuries that are rare and almost non-existent.

So, for my sanity, I called in a big favor.  I asked my parents to take Avery for the weekend.  Now, this was a big arrangement because we don’t have any family (and very few friends) that live nearby that can help us out and give us a break – both our families are 4+ hours away, so I can’t just ask my Mom to take Avery for a night so I can get some sleep.  I can’t ask my MIL to come by and watch Avery so I can run out for some errands.  And when we go visit them we do get help and it’s relaxing because my Mom will get up with Avery in the middle of night for me so I can get some sleep, but when they are visiting, all I want to do is spend time with them.  So I thought of a possible solution and pitched the idea to my Mom, and she jumped at the idea – I sent Avery to Vermont for a weekend with Grammy and Grampy.  We stayed home to get some much needed rest and do some uninterrupted focused work around the house.

So, last Friday I went to work early so I could leave early, grabbed Avery from daycare and fought the traffic north to meet my Mom halfway and hand off Avery.  We met and had some dinner before I turned around and headed back home.  Avery and Grammy were thrilled to see each other…

IMG_2307[1]

At home I got 10 hours of uninterrupted sleep two nights in a row!  We cleaned the bathroom and the floors in the house.  We even went on a date – an architectural boat cruise of Boston.  And while we were making a productive weekend sans-baby… we were updated with photos on what Avery was up to…

Apple picking VT 1 baby apple picking 3

baby apple picking baby apple picking 2

baby and grampy kids rocking chair

baby and dog baby and pumpkin

We picked Avery up on Sunday afternoon – he barely glanced at us he was so occupied pretending to drive Grampy’s big truck.  We packed him up (along with a big bag of apples!) and said our goodbyes and headed home – ready to start our week refreshed and Avery was worn out because that night – he slept thru the night!

Did I feel guilty for sending him away?  Yes.  I love Avery and cherish every second I get with him.  But to be a better Mom for him, I need time to myself to regroup and recharge my batteries.  I try to remind myself of that so the guilt goes away a little bit.  Plus, they say it takes a village to raise a child, right…?

How do you ‘do it all’? (withouth losing your mind!?) Do you enlist the help of family and friends? Do you sneak naps at work during lunch in your car? (a friend of mine does!) Do you have amazing friends like ours that won’t let us pay them when we need a sitter for a few hours every couple of weeks. 

Pssst… someone claimed Avery’s Secret Gift from Friday… who was it?  They asked to stay a mystery 🙂 

10 thoughts on “Avery’s Weekend Getaway

  1. I know I dont have kids yet but, dont feel guilty! Your sanity and relationship with your husband is what will keep Avery happy and healthy himself, its so important in the long run! and 2 nights of 10hrs of sleep, dang girl! that’s amazing 🙂 Good for you guys, love the updates 🙂

    • Thanks, Tessa. When your little man comes, take advantage of your parents being so close… you’re very lucky to have them nearby. If you ever need to catch up on sleep – you know what to do 🙂

  2. This is awesome; do NOT feel guilty! I never feel like I’m getting it all done, and I think it’s partially because we never utilize our families who both live within 30 minutes of our house! We’ve never dropped Annabel off to run errands or had them come over so that we could have a date….not because I feel guilty but mainly because I hate asking favors and I worry about Annabel being a handful or getting upset when we leave. But all of that is just silly and we REALLY need to start doing things like this. After I read your post, I called my hubby to see if he could arrange something with his parents for this weekend! So thanks for the inspiration:) And yay for getting a weekend to sleep and be productive. Looks like Avery and Grammy had a blast too, so win/win!

    • Awe – so glad I inspired you to take a break like this! I used to worry about the same stuff when I had someone watch Avery… but now that he’s older, he’s MUCH easier to handle. Plus it’s important for them to spend time with family. Let me know how handing her off to grandparents worked!

  3. Girl, good job! You need to have a break every now and then. It doesn’t make you a bad mom, in fact, probably makes you an even better mom! Avery will appreciate having his mommy fully energized and not exhausted. don’t feel guilty, I admire you even more for doing that!

    • Thanks, Mel. I’m really thanking myself for that weekend, especially today. Last night Avery was up screaming (maybe teething) all night and I got maybe 2 hours of broken sleep… so I have no idea how i’d be functioning if I hadn’t got that sleep the other weekend….

  4. Don’t feel guilty. You’re a wonderful mom. You work full-time, you take care of your family, you keep up with chores, etc. You need to be fully charged so that you can be the best you can be. In addition, I know your parents are thrilled to have Avery for the weekend to spend some lots of much needed one-on-one time with him.

    We are very, very fortunate. We live 2-miles away from both our parents and my parents live 1.4-miles away from my in-laws. They split days taking care of Lili. Monday, Thursday and Friday at my parents; Tuesday and Wednesday at my in-laws. If I did need them to watch her on the weekends, my in-laws would jump at it in a minute, but I very rarely go that route. I am so selfish with my time with Lili. It’s hard to let her go. From the minute I get out of work to the start of the weekend, I look forward to spending each and every second with her. Fortunately, my husband doesn’t mind too much. LOL I said to him the other night, “Are you mad that we don’t go out on dates because I know we should really do that sort of thing so that our marriage stays sane!” But the reality of it is, we hardly did go out on dates before a baby. Our idea of a date night is hanging out together in a room with board games or just talking. So we do try to do that every so often.

    Great post. So glad you are fully charged for the week.

    • Thanks, Rachel. I am super-envious of your nearby family support! I’d love to do that arrangement… but even if our family was close, both our parents work full-time and won’t be retiring for a while… so we’d be in the same predicament for daycare, but weekends… I’d hand him off much more so I could get things done and be able to give him FULL attention when I’m done all the chores/errands…

Please leave a Comment...

