“Gone Reading”

I usually post during my lunch break at work.  It’s the only free time I have during the day that I can do something I enjoy to relax without having to worry about juggling a baby and household.  Well, that’s not happening today.  Some days I skip a post and work thru lunch while spooning yogurt into my mouth.  That’s not the plan today.

Thanks to my dear friend Erin, we recently exchanged books.  I gave her ‘Girl with the Dragon Tatoo’ – which by the way is a GREAT read.  It takes a bit to get into, but it’s well worth the work!  And Erin gave me the ’50 Shades of Grey’ series.  Well, I made the mistake last night of reading before bed.  At the time, I didn’t think it was a big mistake.  I was in bed at 9:30, which meant I should have just gone to sleep, but I told myself I would just crack open the book to see what it’s all about.  BAD IDEA.  I was up until almost midnight before I MADE myself put it down.  Such a great read!
FiftyShades
Before crashing on the pillow, I sent Erin a text,  “i hate you.  i just spent the past 2 hours engulfed in ffity shades. omg soooo good couldn’t put it down!  Vinays gonna hate me the next few days cuz all i’ll want to do is read…”

And it’s true, because when Vinay sees me with a book in bed he knows there will be no chatting in bed.  No cuddling.  I’ll be zoned out.  I personally like reading a book before bed to settle down – but this book is NOT a ‘settle down’ book.  If I keep reading this at night, I’ll never get any sleep!

So, I brought the book to work with me today and it’ll stay at work so I can read at lunch which means Vinay will be happy and I’ll get sleep 🙂

So for today I’m taking some ‘me time’ and putting up my “Gone Fishing Reading” sign…

What are you reading?  Do you trade books with friends?  When do you find time to read during the day/night?

photo source

17 thoughts on ““Gone Reading”

    • Haha. Love that you say that Kendra because I was only so far into it this morning. At lunch I really got into it to the point where it felt inappropriate to read at work! I’ll have to read a couple snipits from it for Vinay tonight and it may change his opinion of me reading… haha

  1. It’s a hot one, Meghan!! I’m on the last one… and my husband makes fun of me for reading it. ( he’s a book snob!) Sheeez… a girls gotta have a little fun. (giggle!) Enjoy and don’t let it keep you up too late. Okay, what am I saying… I do the same thing… it’ll be 1:30 in the morning and I can’t put it down. 🙂

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog it is always great to meet a fellow renovator with a love of yellow 🙂
    My friend has given me this book I swapped her for Tuesdays With Morrie which is a beautiful story. But I havent yet started to read it. I joined a girls only Book Club about a year ago and we pick a book a month and review it over wine and dinner, best thing I ever did!

  3. I just got done reading Bared to You. The notes on Amazon said it was like 50 Shades but better. I actually haven’t read 50 shades (I heard while the plotline pulls you in, the actual writing isn’t that great…is that true?). Bared to You however was so addictive and I loved it. So I am guessing if you like 50 Shades you would like this too. 🙂 I am waiting patiently until October when the sequel comes out!

    • I’ll have to add that to my reading list, thanks! I’m only 1/4 into 50 shades. Writing seems OK to me. The content though – blows me away! We’ll see how the plot line goes. It keeps me guessing what will happen next, and I’m always surprised, so it’s a good read so far!

  4. I’m reading Kate Morton, The Distant Hours which so far is just as beautiful as her other 2 novels. I would happily recommend any of her books. I got 50 shades out of the library but I’m not a big fan.

      • I know what you mean! I spent an entire day into the early morning reading. I mean it’s not a masterpiece of literature but the story line is great. For something to really keep my attention like that into 3 books straight….she’s doing something right 🙂

      • Yes – it’s got my attention for sure! Can’t wait to see what the others are like and maybe after I finish them, she’ll have come out with another book!

      • She’s got a great ending to move into the next books. That’s all I’ll say but you know what I’m talking about 🙂

  5. I finally read this series and I like you could not put the book down. I made the mistake of not buying the books all at the same time. I was back and forth to Barnes and Nobles to get each one in a matter of days! lol It seems like there is going to be more to the story!

Please leave a Comment...

