FIT in 40: Itsy Bitsy Teeny Weeny…

Yellow Polka Dot Bikini!

That’s right, It’s bikini shopping time! I only have 2 weeks left in my FIT in 40 health kick and then we’ll be on the beach in Costa Rica!  So it’s time to bite the bullet and buy a bathing suit. No worries though – I’ll have a support team with me – Mom, Sis, and of coarse, Avery. Let’s hope all this work will payoff and I find something I feel good in!

Here’s an update on my progress as of yesterday:

  • Day: 26
  • Days to Go: 14
  • Weight Loss: 3lbs-ish. The scale was higher this morning since the last weigh-in, but I’m not discouraged.  Muscle weighs more than fat, you know 🙂
  • Daily Calorie Net: 1400-ish. Some days are more, some are less.  I try to eat more on days when I workout, to fuel me.  But then some days that I can’t squeeze in a workout, I have to be really careful with what I eat.
  • Guilty Pleasures: Sweets.  I sneak a Hershey kiss or girl scout cookie on the weekend… can’t help it – They’re yummy!  I did go grocery shopping this past weekend though and there are healthier snack options in the cupboards now.
  • Exercise Frequency: 4-5 times/wk.  If we can get out for a stroll, we try to once or twice a day if it’s a weekend.  On crummy days, like yesterday, I make-up some high-intensity workout for 15-20 minutes of jumping jacks, lunges, stretching, ab crunches, etc.  Avery has fun watching me!
  • Bikini Confidence: eh.  I think I’ll be ready to try on bathing suits this weekend, but still not happy with how it looks – those stretch marks are still weird to get used to seeing…
  • Motivational Pictures: My ‘SELF’ Magazine arrived in the mail yesterday (my awesome lil sis got me a bunch of magazines as a gift for my birthday last year).  With summer approaching, they of coarse had a whole section on picking a bathing suit for your body type.  Petite, tall, curvy, plus-size, etc.  Problem is, I feel like I apply to three of the categories.  Here are a few pictures of suggested bathing suits for my body type(s) from SELF.com:

  • Petite. Bikini. Vibrant colors help you take center stage. Steer clear of cutesy florals and polka dots; they can nudge your frame into little-girl territory. Gathered sides, adjusted high, lengthen legs.  This looks the most-similar to previous ones I’ve worn – but it’ll show off my tummy…


  • Petite. One-piece. Delicate details won’t overwhelm your figure. I like this style because it hides my tummy, but with short legs, a one-piece makes me look silly…

 


Bottom-heavy. Bikini. Above-the-waist design elements draw eyes up, where you want them. Avoid skimpy tops, which can make fuller coverage below more apparent. Bottom ties adjust for a custom, comfy fit. This one looks promising… I like the ties.

 

Full-tummied. Tankini. You could wear slimming darks all the time, but that’s no fun. Suck-you-in fabrics and camouflaging tricks help you break out the brights and graphics. Choose a tankini top that flares slightly for a no-cling fit. I wonder if this would be a good compromise between the bikini and a one-piece?

 

Which one(s) do you like?  Do you have any bathing suit shopping advice to share?  How did you feel post-baby in a bathing suit?  Did you conceal your stretch marks with a one-piece or flaunt them with pride in a bikini?

8 thoughts on “FIT in 40: Itsy Bitsy Teeny Weeny…

  1. I always go for the tankini. It can hide flaws and it is easier than a one piece if you have to go to the ladies room!

    • Hahaha, what a great point! How do woman go to the bathroom with a one-piece… thinking about it, that would be so difficult! Tankini sounds like a much better option!

    • VS suits look great in the magazines but I have yet to find a store that carries them. Do they only sell them online and in mags? I hate buying something before trying it on.

  2. Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal
    but I can figure things out pretty fast.
    I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to
    start. Do you have any points or suggestions? Thank you

  3. 植毛手術は、薄毛の人には、根本的な改善をすることができるので大人気です。ただ実績のある医師に手術を依頼しないと思ったような効果は期待できません。薄毛治療薬に比べて、合計のコストも安くなるのでお得な薄毛治療と言えます。

Please leave a Comment...

