A Day in the Life of Avery

Wonder what life’s like for a newborn & new mom?  We’ve documented a typical day in the life our our little man.  For all intensive purposes, we’ll begin a typical day at 9am, when Avery and I wake up after our multiple nightly naps that don’t quiet equate to a full night’s rest.  At this point, Vinay has already left for work, so it’s just me and the little man…

9-9:45am  Feed Avery & change his diaper (#1).  I usually grab a bottle already prepped in the fridge, fill a glass of hot water and put the bottle in it to warm and drop it off on the coffee table in the living room.  Then, while the bottle is warming, we change Avery’s diaper.  Avery does NOT like this.  He cries throughout the whole thing.  You would think that since we do this 8-10 times a day, he’d be accustomed to it by now.  Then we settle on the couch and I feed Avery typically 2-3 ounces of formula, and burp him.

Avery on his changing table:

9:45-10:45am  Avery is wide awake.  After making sure all his bubbles are gone, I set him down in his gym.  Now I have time to go to the bathroom, put in my contacts, and make myself breakfast.  After about 20 minutes on the map, Avery gets cranky, so I pick him up and we bond for a bit or do some tummy time before he tires and falls asleep.

10:45am-12:00pm  Before I put Avery down, I wheel his bassinet from our bedside to the hallway outside the bathroom.  I put him down and am able to shower and dress.  Then I wheel him into the living room so I can clean dishes and bottles in the kitchen, and prep a bottle for when he wakes up.  I’ll have a few more minutes to myself now to check email, pump some milk, text Vinay a cute picture of Avery, and pick up a little around the house.

Avery in his bassinet:

12:00-12:45pm Avery wakes up, very hungry.  Diaper change and feeding (#2).  Typically at this time of day, Avery falls right back to sleep.

12:45-3:00pm I put Avery down and he sleep soundly for a couple hours.  I’m able to make some lunch, pump some milk, and do some homework during this time.

3:00-3:45pm Another diaper & feeding (#3). Avery goes back down for another nap.  This is when I also take about an hour nap. (sleep=1 hr)

Our sleeping angel:

5:30pm  Diaper and feeding (#4). Sometimes Avery only goes 2- 2 1/2 hours between feedings before he gets hungry again.

6:15pm Vinay comes home from work.  Avery is typically still sleeping, so Vinay and I catch each other up on our day.  Then Vinay takes out the trash and does a load of laundry.  Both tasks require going downstairs in the basement (where I can’t hear Avery) so Vinay accomplishes those tasks for us.

8:00-8:45pm Diaper change and feeding (#5).  Vinay likes taking Avery for this one, and in the meantime, I make dinner.

Vinay & Avery on the rocker in the nursery:

9:00pm Dinner for Vinay and I.  We usually watch a TV show together as well and just relax after our long day.  Most of the time Avery is sleeping, but when he isn’t, one of us is feeding or tending to him while the other eats, then we switch.  If we are lucky, he will occupy himself in his gym.

11:00-11:45pm Diaper change and feeding (#6).  One of us tends to Avery while the other gets ready for bed, then we switch.  I pump some milk.  Finally when Avery falls asleep, we both hit the sack for the night.

2:00am Avery’s cries wake me up. (sleep=3 hrs)

2:00-3:00am Change Avery’s diaper and feed him (#7).  He usually doesn’t fall right asleep, so that means walking around with him and rocking him until he goes to sleep and I can put him down.

Burping Avery:

5:30am Avery wakes me again (sleep=5 hrs)

5:30-6:30am Another diaper change and feeding (#8).  It’s been a good night if Avery hasn’t peed thru his clothes, requiring a clothing change and mini sponge bath so he’s all clean.  Doing this after a 2 hour nap is NOT fun.  Avery screams through the whole thing while I try to keep my eyes open.

Outfit changes for mister Avery:

7:00am Vinay wakes up and gets ready for work.  He’s out the door around 8am with a kiss for Avery & one for me.

9:00am Avery wakes me up and we start it all over again! (sleep = 8 hrs… I get enough sleep, it’s just all broken up into a lot of naps!)

Please leave a Comment...

